What’s the Point of Comparison?

Comparing leads to complaining which leads to criticizing. – Carlos Antonio

The greatest danger of comparing oneself to others is that it leads to two things God hates: pride and envy– pride when we perceive ourselves as better than others and envy when we perceive others to be better off than us.  Each one of us has our own season where God deals with our personal issues and which has entirely nothing to do with other people’s issues.  Comparing oneself to others is like comparing an apple to an orange– totally pointless.  I would be the biggest hypocrite if I say I never compared my life to others. In fact, the constant fear of being compared to others and the habit of comparing myself to others have led me to become performance-oriented as a child– to use all means to charm, disarm, and overtake my competitors. Receiving honors and recognition were met with a blasé attitude of “Dapat lang, I deserve this for being such a good and oh-so-smart girl.”

When I became a Christian however, more and more, I realized that even the very breath I take is something I do not deserve.  It made me more grateful and humble, because God’s standards cannot even be met by the highest standard set by ISO, which I can never even meet, and yet He loves me and He chose me to be an instrument in advancing His kingdom. I mess up a lot, and yet, year after year, I see how He brings me to the next level of being molded in my character– in purity of heart, in kindness, and in generosity of time and resources.  It made me more loving and compassionate, as I understood how the world system of competition and envy and crab mentality takes its toll on people who do not know where their security and their comfort lie.

I may fall into this trap of likening my life to others’ lives from time to time, but God has given me the grace to stop when I find myself doing so and instead, look at my life in the perspective of His generosity and His love.

Do nothing from rivalry or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves… Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but made himself nothing, taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men. — Philippians 2:3,5-7

Leave a Reply

