Help or Hindrance?

Image

If you become a necessity to someone else’s life, you are out of God’s will — Oswald Chambers, My Utmost for His Highest

I remember two girls in my small group when I was in college. Both had financial problems but they came into the small group at different times. With the first girl, when she came to me with her problem, I thought the best way to help her was to sacrifice my own money, even if I ended up asking my parents for my allowance earlier than usual. With the second one, I was broke like her, so I had no choice but to just pray with her and believe in faith that God will provide.

It is sad to note that the first girl, upon encountering another financial hurdle which I could not help her with, disappeared. The second girl, on the other hand, thrived and grew to lead others to God.  Could it be that instead of helping the first girl, I instead hindered her from knowing God’s faithfulness and God’s sovereignty and from experiencing the fullness of a vibrant, personal relationship with God? Painful as the truth is, I did.

I’m grateful that God has given me leaders in LB, at the Fort, in Kids Church and in the small group who have allowed me to grow by letting me make mistakes and take responsibility for them as well as by letting me face adversity and hold on to God alone to overcome it. I need to be the kind of mentor, the kind of kids church teacher, and the kind of friend that spotlights God alone as well =).  As a mentor, we just need to go through the foundations with the persons we’re leading to God and help them love the truth of God’s word. As a kids church teacher, we just need to preach the truth to the kids and model it to them. As a friend, we just need to listen, to give godly counsel, and to pray and believe in faith with troubled friends.

It’s easy to write this down on paper (or more appropriately typing it on FB), but in reality it is hard for anyone who’s used to being on top of it all to shy away from the limelight and let it shine on the real Star or for anyone who’s used to helping others in a sticky situation to allow the Helper to make His move instead or for anyone who’s used to being the hero to let the real Superhero do His own rescue. Sometimes one needs a good kick on the head to remain humble and low profile and just be the friend of the Bridegroom (John 3:29). There were times when because of my desire to “help” (or, more honestly, to be the hero), I have overtaxed myself, and this has been a hard lesson for me to learn.  Now, it’s much simpler. The only thing God has actually asked me to do is to let Him shine in my life so I could point others to Him as the Source of the light. After that, everything else is His job.

“He must increase, but I must decrease.” — John 3:30

Leave a Reply

